## List of persons and groups designated core participant status by the Inquiry

Under section 17 of the Inquiries Act 2013, the Inquiry can designate a person or group as a core participant in the Inquiry. Core participant status gives general rights to a person or group to give evidence and make submissions to the Inquiry, subject to the Inquiry's directions.

In general, the Inquiry's preference is to designate core participants for each investigation, as is the approach adopted by similar inquiries overseas. This allows the Inquiry to manage investigations and hearings, ensure fairness, and efficiently carry out its work.

The following list includes persons or groups who have been designated core participant status by the Inquiry. There may be additional persons or groups who cannot be named, for example, due to Section 15 Restriction Orders under the Inquiries Act 2013.

## List of persons and groups designated core participant status by the Inquiry as at 14 September 2022:

- The Anglican Church in Aotearoa New Zealand and Polynesia
- Bishops and Congregational Leaders of the Catholic Church of Aotearoa New Zealand through Te Rōpū Tautoko
- Citizens' Commission on Human Rights
- The Crown
- Dilworth Trust Board
- Gloriavale Christian Community
- Gloriavale Leavers' Support Trust
- Te Kahui Tika Tangata The Human Rights Commission
- Ko Taku Reo Deaf Education New Zealand
- Dr Michelle Mulvihill
- Network of Survivors of Abuse in Faith-based Institutions
- Dr Oliver Sutherland
- Robert Ludbrook
- Dr Ross Galbreath
- The Salvation Army
- Dr Selwyn Leeks
- Social Service Providers Aotearoa
- Stand Children's Services
- Survivors Network for those Abused by Priests
- Te Tāhi Weteriana o Aotearoa The Methodist Church
- Toni Jarvis