

MINUTE 23

FURTHER DIRECTIONS ON STATE INSTITUTIONAL RESPONSE HEARING

8 AUGUST 2022

1. This Minute sets out further directions on the Royal Commission of Inquiry's upcoming public hearing into the institutional responses of State agencies to abuse in State and Faith-based care (**the hearing**). It should be read together with Minute 22 dated 28 July 2022.

Hearing schedule and witness list

2. Witnesses from State agencies will give evidence on the following dates, in morning and afternoon sessions:

Date	Morning session	Afternoon session
Monday 15 August	Opening statements	Ministry of Social Development
Tuesday 16 August	New Zealand Police	New Zealand Police
Wednesday 17 August	Ministry of Health and Whaikaha – Ministry of Disabled People	Ministry of Health and Whaikaha – Ministry of Disabled People

Thursday 18 August	Ministry of Education	Ministry of Education
Friday 19 August	Teaching Council	Education Review Office
Monday 22 August	Oranga Tamariki	Oranga Tamariki
Tuesday 23 August	Oranga Tamariki	Oranga Tamariki
Wednesday 24 August	Oranga Tamariki	Oranga Tamariki
Thursday 25 August	Department of Corrections	Office of the Children's Commissioner
Friday 26 August	Ombudsman	Public Service Commission
	Ministry for Pacific People	SAGE
	Te Puni Kokiri	Closings

3. A list of the witnesses confirmed to date is attached to this Minute. The witness list will be finalised by Monday 8 August 2022.

Leave to appear at the hearing

4. Minute 22 contained an error in paragraph [21] relating to the timing of applications for leave to appear at the hearing. Applications for leave to appear should be made by email as soon as possible and before 5pm on Wednesday 10 August 2022 to: counselassisting@abuseincare.org.nz

Evidence

5. The Inquiry will not be receiving witness briefs of evidence from State agencies until Monday 8 August 2022. Access to this evidence for core participants and those granted leave to appear will therefore be delayed, but will be facilitated and notified as soon as possible once received. A further Minute will be issued notifying participants of matters in paragraph [28] of Minute 22.

Applications to question witnesses

- 6. This delay requires enlargement of dates in Minute 22.
- 7. Applications to question witnesses by lawyers for participants should be made as soon as possible by email to counselassisting@abuseincare.org.nz but no later than 5pm on Thursday 11 August 2022, and should set out the proposed area/s of questioning and the estimated time required for questioning.
- 8. Decisions on applications for leave to question will be notified as soon as possible.

For the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Historical Abuse in State Care and in Care of Faithbased Institutions

Coral Shaw – Chair

Date: 8 August 2022

Corel Shaw

STATE INSTITUTIONAL RESPONSE HEARING – PROVISIONAL WITNESS LIST

MINISTRY OF SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT – TE MANATŪ WHAKAHIATO ORA

Debbie Power – Chief Executive

Barry Fisk – General Manager Te Kahui Kahu

Arran Jones – Executive Director of Te Mana Whakamaru Motuhake/Independent Children's Monitor

NEW ZEALAND POLICE – NGĀ PIRIHIMANA O AOTEAROA

Andrew Coster - Commissioner of Police

Tania Kura – Deputy Commissioner: Leadership & Capability

MINISTRY OF HEALTH - MANATŪ HAUORA

Dr Diana Sarfati - Director-General of Health

Dr John Crawshaw - Director Mental Health and Addiction

Dr Arran Culver – Acting Associate Deputy Director-General Mental Health and Addiction

John Whaanga – Deputy Director-General, Māori Health

WHAIKAHA - MINISTRY OF DISABLED PEOPLE

Geraldine Woods – Acting Chief Executive Amanda Bleckmann – Deputy Chief Executive, Service Delivery Hannah Kerr – General Manager, Policy

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION – TE TĀHUHU O TE MĀTAURANGA

Iona Holsted - Chief Executive and Secretary for Education

David Wales – National Director Learning Support and Special Education

Rachel Vink – Manager National Service Support and Guidance

Hira Gage - Director Education Tai Tokerau (Operational)

Tipene Chrisp – Group Manager Policy/Māori Education

TEACHING COUNCIL OF AOTEAROA NEW ZEALAND

Robyn Baker ONZM – Chair

Lesley Hoskin – Chief Executive

EDUCATION REVIEW OFFICE - TE TARI AROTAKE MĀTAURANGA

Nicholas Pole – Chief Executive

Lynda Pura-Watson – Deputy Chief Executive – Evaluation and Review Māori

Jane Lee – Deputy Chief Executive – Review and Improvement

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS – ARA POUTAMA AOTEAROA

Jeremy Lightfoot – Chief Executive

Juanita Ryan – Deputy Chief Executive Health

Neil Beales – General Manager Custodial and Chief Custodial Officer

Jessica Borg – General Manager Psychology and Programmes

Rebecca Barson – General Manager Reintegration and Housing

ORANGA TAMARIKI – MINISTRY FOR CHILDREN

Chappie Te Kani – Chief Executive

Peter Whitcombe – Chief Social Worker

Nicolette Dickson – Deputy Chief Executive – Quality Practice and Experience

Frana Chase – Director Youth Justice Transformation Whanau Care in Service Delivery

Aiolupotea Sina Aiolupotea-Aiono – Chief Advisor Pacific

Claudia Boyles – Chief Advisor Disability

Paula Attrill – General Manager International Casework and Adoption in Service Delivery

OFFICE OF THE CHILDREN'S COMMISSONER - MANAAKITIA A TĀTOU TAMARIKI

Judge Frances Eivers – Children's Commissioner Glenis Philip-Barbara – Former Assistant Māori Commissioner for Children Fiona Cassidy – Executive Director

OMBUDSMAN NEW ZEALAND – TE TARI O TE KAITIAKI MANA TANGATA

Peter Boshier – Chief Ombudsman

MINISTRY FOR PACIFIC PEOPLES

Laulu Mac Leauanae – Chief Executive and Secretary for Pacific Peoples Aiono Matthew Aileone - Deputy Secretary for Policy, Research and Evaluation

TE PUNI KOKIRI – MINISTRY OF MĀORI DEVELOPMENT

Dave Samuels – Chief Executive and Secretary for Māori Development Grace Smit – Deputy Secretary – Strategy, Finance and Performance

TE KAWA MATAAHO – PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Peter Hughes – Public Service Commissioner