

MINUTE 27

FURTHER DIRECTIONS ON FAITH-BASED INSTITUTIONAL RESPONSE HEARING

5 October 2022

1. This Minute sets out directions for the Royal Commission of Inquiry's upcoming public hearing into the institutional responses of Faith-Based institutions to abuse in Faith-based care (**the hearing**). It should be read together with Minute 25 dated 2 September 2022.

Timetabling amendment

2. In an amendment to the hearing timetable set out in Minute 25, the hearing time has been increased by half a day to include the morning of Thursday 20 October 2022. The start time for hearing days has also changed from that set out in Minute 25. The hearing will now commence at 9.00am each day. Accordingly, the lunchbreak is now likely to be from 12:30pm to 1:30pm. The final day of the hearing on Thursday 20 October 2022 will conclude at approximately 12.30pm.

Opening statements - amendment

- 3. Paragraph 20 of Minute 25 stated that core participants and individuals/groups granted leave to appear, or their counsel, are permitted a maximum of 20 minutes to make an opening statement. Due to the number of parties that have indicated a desire to give an opening statement, this time is now reduced to 10 minutes, unless otherwise agreed with the Inquiry.
- 4. Opening statements of the faith-based institutions will be delivered by their counsel on the day of that faith-based institution's evidence. Other core participants and individuals/groups granted leave to appear, or their counsel, can make oral opening submissions on the morning of Thursday 13 October 2022.

Closing statements

5. Closing statements of the faith-based institutions, delivered by their counsel, will begin in the afternoon session of Wednesday 19 October 2022. Other core participants and individuals/groups granted leave to appear, or their counsel, can make oral closing submissions on the morning of Thursday 20 October 2022. Closing statements will be limited to a maximum of 20 minutes.

Hearing schedule and witness list

6. Witnesses from faith-based institutions and schools will give evidence on the following dates, in morning and afternoon sessions:

Date	Morning session	Afternoon session
Thursday 13 October	Opening statements from core participants or those granted leave to appear, excluding the faith-based institutions. Opening statements from Gloriavale Christian Community	Gloriavale Christian Community
Friday 14 October	Dilworth School	Anglican Church in Aotearoa New Zealand
Monday 17 October	St Patrick's College Silverstream	The Dioceses and Congregations of the Catholic Church of Aotearoa New Zealand
Tuesday 18 October	The Methodist Church of New Zealand and Wesley College	The Methodist Church of New Zealand and Wesley College
Wednesday 19 October	Presbyterian Support Central Presbyterian Support Otago	Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand Closing statements from faith-based institutions begin.

Thursday 20 October	Continuation of closing statements from faith- based institutions (if required).	
	Closing statements from other core participants or those granted leave to appear, including the Survivor Advisory Group of Experts (SAGE)	

Leave to appear at the hearing

7. The Inquiry hereby grants leave to appear at the hearing to the Survivor Network of those Abused by Priests (SNAP). The Inquiry has not received any further applications for leave to appear.

Witness list

8. A list of the witnesses who are required to attend the hearing is attached to this Minute.

For the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Historical Abuse in State Care and in Care of Faithbased Institutions

Corel Rhaw

Coral Shaw – Chair Date: 5 October 2022

FAITH-BASED INSTITUTIONAL RESPONSE HEARING – WITNESS LIST

GLORIAVALE

Howard Temple – Overseeing Shepherd of Gloriavale Christian Community Rachel Stedfast – Acting Principal of Gloriavale Christian School

DILWORTH SCHOOL

Dr Murray Wilton – former Dilworth Headmaster Derek Firth – former Trustee and Chairman of the Dilworth Trust Board Aaron Snodgrass – Trustee and Chairman of the Dilworth Trust Board

ANGLICAN CHURCH IN AOTEAROA NEW ZEALAND

Right Reverend Ross Bay – Bishop of the Anglican Diocese of Auckland Most Reverend Donald Tamihere – Archbishop of Aotearoa Most Reverend Philip Richardson – Archbishop of New Zealand

ST PATRICK'S COLLEGE SILVERSTREAM

Fr Thige O'Leary - Society of Mary Clare Couch – Chairperson, Board of Proprietors Sean Mahony – Chairperson, School Board Rob Ferreira – Rector

THE DIOCESES AND CONGREGATIONS OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH OF AOTEAROA NEW ZEALAND

Cardinal John Dew – Archbishop of Wellington, Apostolic Administrator of Diocese of Palmerston North and President New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference Dr Paul Flanagan – Member of the National Safeguarding and Professional Standards Committee Bishop Steve Lowe – Bishop of Auckland and Apostolic Administrator of Diocese of Hamilton Bishop Patrick Dunn – Bishop Emeritus of Auckland Sister Sue France – Congregational Leader, Nga Whaea Atawhai O Aotearoa Sisters of Mercy

THE METHODIST CHURCH OF NEW ZEALAND (Contextual) Reverend Tara Tautari – General Secretary of the Methodist Church of New Zealand

THE METHODIST CHURCH OF NEW ZEALAND AND WESLEY COLLEGE

Panel One

New Zealand.

Reverend Tara Tautari – General Secretary of the Methodist Church of New Zealand Etuini Talakai – Vice President of the Methodist Church of New Zealand Chris Johnston – General Secretary of Wesley College Trust Board Reverend Ian Faulkner – former Principal of Wesley College

Panel Two

Reverend Tara Tautari – General Secretary of the Methodist Church of New Zealand Etuini Talakai – Vice President of the Methodist Church of New Zealand Dr Brian Evans – Principal Wesley College

PRESBYTERIAN SUPPORT CENTRAL

Muhammad Naseem (Joe) Asghar - Chief Executive Officer of Presbyterian Support Central Patrick Waite – former Chief Executive Officer of Presbyterian Support Central

PRESBYTERIAN SUPPORT OTAGO

Jo Rowe – Chief Executive Officer of Presbyterian Support Otago

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF AOTEAROA NEW ZEALAND

Wayne Matheson - Assembly Executive Secretary of PCANZ